List of NBA champions

The National Basketball Association (NBA) Finals is the championship series to the NBA and the end of its postseason. All Finals Are played at a best-of-seven format, and are contested between the champions of their Eastern Conference and the Western Convention (previously Divisions earlier 1970), except in 1950 when the Eastern Division winner confronted the winner between the Western and Central Division winners. From 1946 through 1949, when the league was known as the Basketball Association of America (BAA), the playoffs were a three-stage tournament where the two semifinal winners played each other in the finals. [1][2][3] The team of this show receives the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy.
The present home-and-away format at the NBA Finals is 2–2–1–1–1 (the group with the superior regular-season record plays on their home court in Games 1, 2, 5, and 7), that has been utilized at 1947–1948, 1950–1952, 1957–1970, 1972–1974, 1976–1977, 1979–1984, and 2014–present. It was previously in two –3–2 format (the team with the better regular season record plays on their home court in Games 1, 2, 6, and 7) during 1949, 1953–1955, and 1985–2013,[4][5][6][7][8][9] in a 1–1–1–1–1–1–1 structure during 1956 and 1971,[10][11] and at a 1–2–2–1–1 — 1 format throughout 1975 and 1978. [12][13]
The Eastern Conference/Division leads the Western Conference/Division in string won (39–34). The Central Division, when the existing Eastern Division was updated as a conference in presence throughout the 1949 — 50 NBA season when the NBA was divided into three branches and different from the current Central Division created in 1970, won one championship. The Boston Celtics and the Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers own almost half of those titles, having won a 33 of 73 championships. As of 2019, the defending champions are.

Read more here:

Comments are closed.